Hawtness – Volume 1 – Chapter 11

Previous | Table Of Contents | Next

Seven Minutes in Heaven

The car drove for thirty minutes before the men pulled up to a nondescript building. Meanwhile, Andrew remained dispassionate and bored. I tried to talk to him several times, but he seemed happier pretending I wasn’t there.

“It’s alright,” I told the young boy, just a twinge of panic in my voice.

Andrew turned to me, “Of course it will be, my dad always comes, just not when I need him.”

The men pulled us out of the car and ushered us into the building. Without the vampire venom, trying to resist them was pointless. Andrew didn’t care to put up a fight either. Within minutes, the men shoved the pair of us into a small walk-in closet. I turned and began banging on the door and shouting. Even if no one heard me, at least I could annoy the guards. That gave me some comfort.

“Will you stop it already? You’re irritating,” Andrew snapped, sitting on a blanket that they had chucked into the room behind us.

I turned back to him in annoyance, “Aren’t you afraid at all? Don’t you care?”

Andrew shrugged, “I’m just a political figure’s son. This is just something that happens. Besides, dad only cares about me because it makes him look like a family man.”

“I am sure he cares about you more than that,” I defended.

“Yeah, I’m sure. So much so he’s sending me away…”

“What?”

“My dad is sending me to earth to grow up among humans as soon as I hit high school. It’s a political stunt; he’s trying to earn sympathy votes.”

I moved over to the floor, sitting across from him, “What about your mom?”

“What mom? She died in childbirth.”

I shook my head; Andrew had never told me any of these things. Maybe I didn’t know Andrew as well as I thought I did.

“I’m sure she loved you very much.”

“Why would you think that?” Andrew snapped in annoyance.

“Because… she’s your mom.”

Andrew snorted, turning his head away from me. I realized he was done talking. His mental walls were back. We ended up sitting in the darkness, and for the first time, I began to worry. Tomodalton hadn’t told me what to do next. I was vulnerable, imprisoned, and in danger. Six decades in the past and no one knew I was here.

The events that had occurred over the last month came crashing home. The boys that I considered my friends could not help. They won’t know what happened. One day, Andrew might figure it out. By then, I’d be a memory of a person he once knew. Tears began to flow down my cheeks, and I cried. Andrew watched me out of the corner of his eye but didn’t bother to comfort me. I had spent the last few weeks trying to be free from all these boys. Now, I felt the loneliest I had ever felt.

The door clicked open, and I looked up as a familiar face entered the room. While the face was familiar, it was not welcome. It was the face of the werewolf Stine. He wore a nasty grin and he glared down at us with a cruel look on his face.

“Well look at that.” He laughed, “Janine’s pet human alone and crying. The look is good on you.”

He pushed himself into the room, coming up to me in two short steps and grabbing me. I tried to push him away, his breath reeked of meat.

“You’re part of the cult? Why would you want a war between the demons and the angels?” I tried to deflect.

Stine chuckled, “Profit, pet, you can’t make a profit as a warrior without a war. My werewolf family line are warriors. I seek battle. Soon, a battle like no other will break across every dimension. I will become a general, and I will lead an army of werewolves into a glorious battle.”

“If you’re such a great warrior, then how did Janine’s husband beat you?” I snarled back.

He slapped me, but his other hand gripped my shirt, keeping me standing. His face now wore an open snarl, half changed into a werewolf-like form.

“That bastard is nothing but a show horse. He is a werewolf by name only. He won because he cheated. The bastard cheated me out of my love! So I will take you my little pet. I’m going to make you my mate. When I’m done teaching you to beg on command, I’ll put you to sleep like I’d do with any other pet!”

My eyes widened, but my anger was explosive, “Like any other pet? So you have sex with animals? That’s messed up.”

Stine bellowed in rage, pulling back his hand, this time in the form of a fist. I winced, preparing myself for the blow. A sudden shout and he stopped, letting go of me as I fell. Andrew had made his little fire knife appear and slammed it into the man’s thigh. He backhanded Andrew, causing him to fly to the side. The knife disappeared, leaving a sizzling wound in its place. The werewolf grabbed his leg, growling in agony before turning to Andrew, who was crawling away while cupping a bruise on his chin.

Stine moved forward, a murderous gleam in his eye, and for the first time, Andrew looked terrified. He dropped on top of the boy, his arms grabbing Andrew’s neck as he tried to strangle the life out of him. I did the only action I could think to do, I leaped on top of the angry werewolf’s back, trying to claw at his face. Stine tossed me up and over his shoulder, my body slamming into a shelf.

Stine released the boy’s neck with one hand, reaching for his back pocket. He pulled out a large knife, raising it. Andrew’s eyes widened more, a look of pure despair on his face. My body ached; I couldn’t move. However, seeing Stine choking Andrew was too much. I had to do something. Why was I always so weak? Why was I always so human? Why couldn’t I do anything?

I needed power, to change, to help my friend. Then it came to me; the vision of Andrew’s sword appeared in mind. I could pull from that power. The Archangel said the magic was within me. He said I was protected. What did that mean? I had to protect Andrew. I needed to do something. A noise resounded downstairs, a sudden booming sound. It distracted Stine for a second as he glanced back.

I leaped forward at Stine. It was so sudden and so reckless that he reeled in surprise. My arm swung in a full arc. For a second, just a single second, it appeared. It was Andrew’s sword. The full-length sword. The one I remembered from the future. However, instead of being orange and bright, the sword was sheathed in Rune’s purple flame. The flame sucked in light around it. Stine brought his knife up to block my blow. It struck the knife head on, which shattered into a thousand pieces. The force of the concussion threw me back. I struck the far wall of the closet.

Stine flew in the other direction, blasting out the open door of the closet and slamming into the wall beyond. He fell to the ground, his eyes rolling up in his head as he slouched to the ground. I tried to stand up, but I had trouble moving. That was okay, Andrew was safe.

He ran at me, throwing his arms around me, “Why did you do that? Humans can’t do that. You stupid, stupid, stupid…”

I realized the boy was crying. Why was he crying? We were safe now, weren’t we? I reach up to touch his hands, then noticed my fingers were covered in blood. I looked at my hand and frowned. There was a giant hole in my abdomen. Blood seeped out. I couldn’t understand what I was seeing. There was no pain. Just peace.

Andrew looked up at me with tears in his eyes, and I gave him a smile, “I just… wanted to make sure you were okay.”

Andrew shook his head, “I’m not; I’m not okay. I tried to save you. I couldn’t save you. Why are you so stubborn?”

“Girl’s… are always this stubborn.”

The boy held me tighter, breaking into more tears. “I’m not strong enough.”

“You’ll just have to be stronger then, for next time.”

Andrew shook his head in disbelief. My body was numb. My eyelids were getting heaving. Andrew looked me in the eyes. Those eyes contained compassion, determination, and care. Those eyes were kind and concerned, Andrew’s eyes.

With difficulty, I lifted my hand up to little Andrew’s cheek, “There’s my Andrew.”

“Son,” A voice came from the entrance causing Andrew to look back, it was the Archangel, “Oh you worried me so much. The bastards downstairs said they had sent someone up here to kill you.”

Andrew ran to his dad in a panic, “Can you save her, please say you can save her?”

The Archangel looked over at me, then back at Stine’s unconscious body, “It looks like she gave her life to protect you. I am sorry, but I felt the surge of energy from downstairs. A human body can’t handle that. There is nothing I can do.”

Andrew’s eyes turned angry, and then he raced out of the room, pushing past his father. The Archangel had a look of pity on his face. He knew what I had guessed. There was no saving me now.

“Perhaps I could help,” a skeletal voice came from behind the Archangel, causing him to turn.

The cloaked Necromancer pushed in past the man and knelt beside me. He began muttering to himself as he glanced over my body.

“Well, how interesting. A time traveler, a vampire, a demon, and an angel? You are just bursting with magic. Bursting with potential. I could bring you back. Once you die, I can resurrect you. The cost is not cheap.”

My eyelids were so heavy. I struggled to understand what he was saying. I remembered Stephan then. The life he led of loneliness. I remembered the others too. Andrew, Rune, Daniel, Xavier, Alex, Tomodalton, and even Victor. That wasn’t the life they wanted for me. That wasn’t the person I was.

“I’m sorry, no.”

The Necromancer frowned at me with tight lips, “Are you sure? I don’t offer these chances often.”

“I think… I’ll just be me for a while longer.”

“Very well,” the man appeared annoyed, standing up and turning away from me, “It looks like I’ve done all that I can do. It would be best if we left. The police will show up soon to clean up the mess you left downstairs.”

The Necromancer stormed out of the room. Andrew’s dad looked back at me, a look of regret still in his eyes. He was a strong, confident, powerful man. He looked so much like his son. I imagined that when Andrew became an adult one day, he would look much like that. It wasn’t a bad last sight to have before you died. It wasn’t bad at all. My eyes slipped shut.

*****

Shadows and distorted noises assaulted my tired brain. I could hear distorted words. People were talking.

“…Venom isn’t working. It might be too late to save…”

“…I’ll have to take her to the future, we have better medicine there. You’ve done enough, Victor…”

“…She’s in bad shape; give me 20 cc’s of….”

My eyes opened; I was lying in the bed of a sterile, white room. My body still felt more or less numb from head to toe. Feeling at my chest, I found bandages wrapped around it. At least I still had a chest. Breasts as well, I checked; they were still there.

“Ahem,” A voice spoke up causing me to turn, one hand still squeezing my right breast.

A man was sitting in the chair nearby. The room didn’t have any lighting on, making it too dark to see anything specific. The man’s features were obscured by the shadows cast throughout the room.

“Is there anything else you’re concerned you might be missing? I can assure you, it’s all still there,” the man had a strong, masculine voice.

I snatched my hand away from my breast, blushing just a bit as I glanced around the darkened room more. There was no furniture or decorations; the room was sterile. The only light came from cracks in the blinds.

Chuckling to himself, the man leaned back, “You know, I can’t tell you how surprising it was when my nephew came barging in with your beaten up body. My wife almost fainted. You’d think after all the things you’ve done; you would be less prone to surprise.”

“Where- where am I?”

“Safe. You’re in a hospital right now. In the future; your future.”

“Where’s Tomodalton?”

“Probably having a mental breakdown right now. That poor kid. Grew up with so many dangerous uncles that he’s scared of his own shadow. He’s taken with you, though. I’ve never seen him take so much command. As he tells it, he dragged your body back to Victor’s place while dogging cops. Then he got more venom out of Victor to keep you alive until he could bring you here. I didn’t know the boy had it in him until I saw it myself.”

“Is he going to be okay?”

“Well, that depends on whether he survives my wife. She’s livid with him, even though she’s aware it had to happen. I don’t know where he got the time machine. He has been playing with those Gallifreyan kids again. They are bad influences.”

I squeezed my nose, this whole journey happened, that was the hardest part to swallow, “What happened at the summit?”

“History. Nothing that hasn’t already happened. A peace treaty was signed; everyone went their separate ways. Well, until what came after that.”

I frowned. “What came after that?”

“Well, you’ll go back and find out. You’ve still got many adventures ahead of you. This is just the start.” The man stood. “I think it best right now if I leave you to your rest. You’ll be heading back to your time real soon, and it’s easier if you are well-rested. Before I go, I was wondering if you wouldn’t mind taking Tom with you. I’d like to see him straighten out. I think you are a good influence on him.”

“Won’t that break the time-space continuum?”

The man shrugged, “It’s already happened. I remember him going back and spending time with us. We knew it was one day going to happen. The question was always when.”

“What is he to me? He said his grandpa’s name was Dalton.”

The man chuckled, “Oh I wouldn’t worry about that. He’s adopted. If you had to name him, I guess he’s kind of a half-brother. So make sure you’re a good big sister to him.” He turned and began moving toward the exit.

“Who are you?” I asked as he approached the door.

He turned back to me. I couldn’t make out any features on his face. His eye color and his hair color, the only identifiable traits someone can easily make, were obscured in the darkness.

I could see the faintest outline of a smile, though, “It’s been an interesting opportunity to see my wife when she was a young girl once again. I’m not saying you didn’t age well. You’re as beautiful today as you were back then. I just couldn’t let the opportunity pass me up.”

The man opened the door, light spraying into the room, blinding me. His dark silhouette turned in my direction, “Have fun, this is only the beginning. Your future is going to be a roller coaster ride, for all of you.”

The door shut behind him, leaving me in silence. That was my husband? No… I couldn’t even entertain the thought. I scratched my head, the whole thing was a big, confusing mess. I lied my head back and fell asleep.

*****

When my eyes opened back up, I was lying in my bed. Not the hospital bed, but the bed in my room; I was home. The familiar sights and sounds made everything else I had experienced feel like a dream.

I was hoping that it was all a dream. Not just the journey to the past, but the naked werewolves, the sister, the demons, and the angels. At this point, that seemed like too much to hope for. At least here in my bed, I was safe from those horrifying realities.

I stretched my body, letting my hands fall to their side. My right hand landed on something hard. I squeeze my hand feeling the form beside me. It was warm and rock hard. The form moaned. I shut my eyes, then opened them again, turning to my right. There was a boy in my bed.

“Hey sweetie, if you want to get touchy and frisky this early in the morning, I’m for it,” Alex winked at me.

I leaped out of bed, turning back to the grinning boy, “Why are you in my bed, Alex?”

“You disappeared last night. Everyone was looking for you. I had to jump out my window and reenter the house pretending to be you just so your mom didn’t have a heart attack. Do you know how hard it is to pretend to have such flat features?” Alex looked me up and down with an amused look on her face.

I growled at her. Just because my body wasn’t as voluptuous as hers was no reason to make fun of me. I glanced down at myself, and for the first time realized that I wasn’t wearing any clothes. I was standing in the middle of the room next to a guy with no clothing on.

“Where are my clothes, Alex?” I shrieked with a hoarse voice.

“Don’t look at me. I didn’t take your clothing off.”

“Honey? Did you say something?” A voice yelled from downstairs. Mom!

“I’m fine mom!” I shouted, turning back to Alex, “This is not okay, Alex, this-”

The window slipped open and a large muscular man peaked his head into my room.

“Hey, Alex, have you seen-” Daniel’s eyes slipped to me, seeing my naked body as I tried to cover myself up with two arms, “Jane…”

“Turn your eyes away, Daniel.”

“I’m… trying.”

“Daniel!”

“Would you be more comfortable if I took off my clothes?” Daniel offered.

“No, Daniel! No, I wouldn’t. I swear to God, I’ll freaking neuter you!”

Daniel whimpered, averting his eyes, but not leaving.

“Honey? Are there people up there?” mom yelled up, the sound of thumping feet coming up the door.

“My freaking room needs a freaking lock on it!” I snapped, scanning the room, “Alex, turn into me. Say you’re sick or something. I’ll hide in the closet.”

“Yeah, yeah,” Alex waved his hand, already shimmering.

I ran to the closet and flung open the door to see Tomodalton standing there in front of me.

“Why are you in my closet, Tom?”

Tom blushed, “I was scared when Alex showed up and before I knew it I was in the closet.”

“Tom!”

“It’s okay sister, there is enough room in here for you and me. It’s okay, you’re my sister so it won’t be weird.”

“You have a brother?” Alex asked with a frown.

“An adopted half-brother from the future.”

“He’s cute.”

“Alex, don’t you start!”

I ran over to the window and shoved the still peering Daniel out the window, slamming it shut. I ignored the screaming and the crashing below. He’s a big werewolf, he’ll be fine. Then, I grabbed Tom, turning to shove him back into the closet.

“Ow, sister, you’re hurting me.”

“Get your ass back in that closet!” I shrieked.

Alex clapped her hands, “Hehe, this is so fun!”

My foot caught on a piece of clothing left on the floor causing my leg to twist. Tom went to protect me, but as I grabbed him, I ended up dragging his small body with me. The pair of us went tumbling to the floor. The door opened and mom peeked in.

“Honey, I-”

Alex was crouched in the bed, looking down at the pair of us with a big grin on her face. I was on the floor naked, my limbs sprawled in every direction. My adopted half-brother was on top of me. Tom glanced up at my mom and smiled.

“Hey Mrs. Averygail, I’m your exhusband’s other illegitimate child.”

The emotions that poured over my mother’s face during that moment couldn’t be described in words. My future husband told me this was only the beginning. Tears began to pour down my eyes. My life freaking sucked.

The End of Volume 1

Previous | Table Of Contents | Next

3 thoughts on “Hawtness – Volume 1 – Chapter 11

Leave a Reply

